SWAROVSKI CRYSTAL CHANDELIER TIPS

Published by

on

One of a kind turquoice crystal chandelier by karen curtis

 

 

Image

It is kind of funny how things work out.  In 2005, my 5th year in business I found myself spending months looking for the perfect colorful chandelier for my NYC apartment. I found shapes that I loved, colors that stood out to me but couldn’t find the complete package of vintage/traditional elegance mixed with a little flare, style, color and quality. It really never occurred to me that this seemingly fun task would be draining both my time and patience.  That is when I took matters into my own hands, instead of searching for the best chandelier I began looking for the best elements to a chandelier.  I acquired a few of the most amazing original antique frames from high end vintage and antique stores, pieces that had history( no reproductions) frames that had sexy curvature and quality materials like ornate brass and venetian glass.  

Image

Now I had something to work with so I had all of the wiring redone with up to code antique looking cords, keeping with the feel of the piece.  It was time to come up with interesting color arrangements and bring to life what I had been searching for.  There is no denying that I know a lot about crystal and crystal quality, and for my personal chandelier I was not going to use anything but the best crystal available.  By using my resources at Swarovski I started to build a selection of all the colored STRASS Swarovski crystals in a variety of different shapes and sizes.  I let my imagination go wild and made some really cool chandeliers!  

As friends would come over they would comment on the lamps and chandeliers, next thing I knew they were asking me to design 1 for them, or telling a friend to contact me. I had developed my own style of chandelier…. ECO Friendly by using antique frames, super colorful, and the highest quality by using only STRASS Swarovski crystal. Next thing I know the chandelier/home interior part of my company was born!

Image

TIPS FOR CHOOSING THE RIGHT CHANDELIER FOR YOU!

Over the years I have gained some insight into the right size chandelier for certain areas of your home.  First off, there is no restrictions on where to hang a chandelier!  The traditional areas i.e. over the dining room table, in an entryway, top of a stairwell are great places.  In these circumstances it is best to take the length of the room in feet + the width of the room in feet and try and keep the diameter of the chandelier to the that size in Inches.  EXAMPLE BELOW:

Image

In addition to the size of the correct chandelier it is important to hang it properly.  So over a dining room table, don’t go lower then 30″ from the top of the table…. this is a great height so that the piece is obviously the focal point of the room but will not interfere with conversations of guests at dinner.

FOR NON-TRADITIONAL PLACES….

• BATHROOM- nothing is more spa-like than having a chandelier in the bathroom, we suggest hanging it a minimum of 7 ft. off the floor and ideally place it over the bathtub for a very luxurious effect!

• CORNER OF THE ROOM-  Corners are usually forgotten, we don’t think they should be!  This can help a room feel larger by creating artwork in the ceiling corner and not to mention the amazing shadowing effect you will have on the 2 walls and ceiling.  You can hang this chandelier where ever you think it looks good, because a corner of a room never really gets any foot traffic it will not interfere with moving around the room.

 Chandeliers are an opportunity to place a floating piece of artwork in your home.  The right chandelier should reflect your personality and most of all make you happy to see it and own it.  Don’t treat a chandelier as just a light, treat it as a masterpiece for your decor!

3 responses to “SWAROVSKI CRYSTAL CHANDELIER TIPS”

  1. Emma Tameside Avatar
    Emma Tameside

    I know the feeling, before purchasing my French style chandelier, I had been looking around for antique french chandeliers for what felt like forever. Although it was definitely worth it in the end.

    I loved your tips though, I’m in the market for purchasing another chandelier and an article like this can go a long way in the decision making process! Really informative and much appreciated, count me as a regular reader of your posts.

    1. karen curtis Avatar

      Hi Emma, Thank you for yr post! That is so sweet and so excited to have you as a follower. Not sure what you are looking for but would love you to see my designs if you haven’t yet… You can see some @ http://www.karencurtis.com and we will be in grand central with all of them on display this holiday season if you are in NYC. :), karen

  2. […] Swarovski Crystal Chandelier Tips […]

Leave a comment